Posted by: annpeace | December 18, 2008

The Christmas Song and a Christmas Carol

“And so Im offering this simple phrase,
To kids from one to ninetytwo,
Although its been said many times, many ways,
A very Merry Christmas to you

It was reported last November that Manila airport workers were banned from greeting Merry Christmas to travelers because a Christmas greeting is a “not so subtle way of asking for money”. Hmmm…

I am losing heart on greetings myself, so I rarely say some unless for some reasons.  But nah, give it to Christmas.  Give it to people! Give it to everyone, it’s Christmas for goodness’ sake.

Then again: “Nephew!” returned the uncle (Scrooge), sternly, “keep Christmas in your own way, and let me keep it in mine.

Scrooge: “What’s Christmas time to you but a time for paying bills without money’ a time for finding your self a year older but not an hour richer, a time for balancing your books and having every item in them through a round dozen of months presented dead against you.”

I’d like to say that I understand Scrooge and that I am almost asking the same things (not the being richer part) but… I’d like to believe and wish I would not be as morose.  Besides, the nephew had a good answer:

“[Christmas is] a kind, forgiving, charitable, pleasant time: the only time I know of, in the long calendar of the year, when men and women seem by one consent to open their shut-up hearts freely, and to think of people below them as if they really were fellow-passengers to the grave, and not another race of creatures bound on other journeys.  And therefore, uncle, though it has never put a scrap of gold or silver in my pocket, I believe that it has done me good, and will do me good; and I say, God bless it!”

“And so Im offering this simple phrase,
To kids from one to ninetytwo,
Although its been said many times, many ways,
A very Merry Christmas to you

Excerpts are from Charles Dickens’ A Christmas Carol and those in colorful text are words from The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire).


Leave a Reply

Categories

