Posted by: annpeace | February 18, 2009

Of Colon Street, Cebu, and Time Machines

The Colon St. Obelisk stands at the northern end of the historical street. It gives the details of the Colon St. significance. Special thanks to Jose Lewis Gachalian for this photo.

The Colon Street Obelisk stands at the northern end of the historical street. It gives the details of the Colon St. significance. Special thanks to Jose Lewis Gachalian for this photo.

Despite the fear that would strike me every time I walk down Colon Street, Cebu, I still do want my feet to touch its dreamy roads. Dreamy because it is the oldest street in the Philippines and I would often wonder how it used to look like in its younger years.

Almost a year ago, I was asked to count how many markers there are in Colon and write a summary of the description of each marker. Funny because I never really noticed those lamps to be the markers not until I was actually searching for them. The experience was ordinary I supposed (there was a little fear, little because I was with two male friends anyway so I was rather confident no one would harm me), not until I had to reread what I had written.

The markers had said that the street was where homes of the then socialites and elites (and The Elite Bakery too…hehehe) stood. As I have viewed the photos of each marker, my mind seemed to be taken away with time. Or maybe, I was just overthinking again.

****

I always itch on taking a photo of that mailbox that I see along Gaisano, an old Cebuano mall. Every time I see that vintage mailbox, my imagination flies. Is this a portal? Some sort of time machine that once I touch it, all will turn into black and white and the street of bustling jeepneys and busy people will transform into a more laidback street filled with tartanillas and sidewalks trailed by natives, Chinese, and Spanish in bakya? Who knows? I never really seen anyone touch that mailbox. Haha…I guess I’d better make my walks in Colon Street more frequent so that my mind would fly more often.

Related post:

Colon Street Heritage Markers


Responses

  1. nakapost ang mga pictures ani ngadto sa Legislative Building.😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

