Posted by: annpeace | March 14, 2009

Those Yellow Ribbons in Fuente

Tie a Yellow Ribbon

I’m comin’ home, I’ve done my time
Now I’ve got to know what is and isn’t mine
If you received my letter telin’ you I’d soon be free
Then you’ll know just what to do if you still want me
If you still want me

CHORUS:

Tie a yellow ribbon ’round the old oak tree
It’s been three long years
Do you still want me?
If I don’t see a yellow ribbon round the old oak tree
I’ll stay on the bus
Forget about us
Put the blame on me
If I don’t see a yellow ribbon round the old oak tree

Bus driver, please look for me
‘Cause I couldn’t bear to see what I might see
I’m really still in prison, and my love she holds the key
A simple yellow ribbon’s what I need to set me free
I wrote and told her please:

REPEAT CHORUS

Now the whole damn bus is cheering
And I can’t believe I see
A hundred yellow ribbons ’round the old oak tree
I’m comin’ home

*********

The yellow ribbons at the Fuente Osmeña Circle. Some guys also had themselves bald to show support to Mayor Tomas Osmeña. (special thanks to Clarence Andrew Mongado of dahonglaya.com for the photo)

The yellow ribbons at the Fuente Osmeña Circle. Some guys also had themselves bald to show support to Mayor Tomas Osmeña. (special thanks to Clarence Andrew Mongado of dahonglaya.com for the photo)

I felt Cebu City welcoming me again when I went there yesterday out of impulse.  All those yellow ribbons tied to the fence round the Fuente Osmeña Circle and round those old not-oak trees…it was like a hero’s welcome (minus a hero’s noble death, God forbid).

But of course that was a self-made perception, haha.  Had not read, listened, or watched news but I was quick to assume the yellow ribbons were for Mayor Tomas Osmeña’s homecoming last March 10 (was sure about that and I was right anyway).  Nevertheless, I liked the idea that the ribbon welcome was for me though.  In some way and because of the memories made and people I have met in that city, I consider it a home.  I find beauty in its ugliness and solitude in its noise.

Yes, because I was there to escape from the chaos of my silence.  And more than the yellow ribbons that welcomed me are the friends that embraced me. Naks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

