Posted by: annpeace | April 7, 2009

Maya, Daanbantayan, Cebu

Alright, so today I take you to a sorta tour to Maya, Daanbantayan, Cebu, Philippines! My father’s hometown.

Brief History of Daanbantayan

This northern end of the Cebu Province was a lookout station of the Moros before Spaniards colonized the dear Philippines. Thus, it was named “Bantayan” which means lookout station.

Some years later, another island nearby also built a watchtower and called the place Bantayan (now Bantayan Island).  So the northern town changed its name to Daanbantayan adding the word “daan” which means old, to distinguish it from the new Bantayan.

Just a few years ago, there was a move to change the name of Daanbantayan, Cebu to “Kang Daya” (that of Daya or belonging to Daya).  This was to avoid confusion between Bantayan Island and Daanbantayan.  Datu Daya was  believed to be the leader of the first Malayan settlers in the northern part of Cebu. The request for renaming, however, was not approved.

Remembering Maya

As a child I would use to go to Maya during summer vacation with the family. What I remember most is that the best thing about going back there are the white sand beach, clear blue waters, and the seafood!! !

During Holy Week, when we are supposed to fast, there would be lots and lots of food from each household and all we had to do was house hop for our breakfast, lunch, and dinner. But because it was fasting season, there would be no meat served. Quite crazy, I know. But you know how old people tend to perceive traditions.

Sadly, I think I would not be going there for this summer. But I had just gone there after my graduation last October though…the first place where I celebrated my “freedom”. I would’ve wanted to go to Malapascua (local name is Logon) too, but by then, budget did not allow.  I promise my self to go to the island paradise Malapascua the next time I go “homecoming”.

Here are some photos. These are not works of a photographer (whether amateur or professional) so, just bear with them.

Titay's Liloan Rosquillos and Delicacies: The first stop over when you go North of Cebu.

Titay's Liloan Rosquillos and Delicacies: The first stop over when you go North of Cebu (So, yes, it's not in DBantayan, it's in Liloan).

San Isidro Parish, Maya, Daanbantayan, Cebu: It's triangle! Looks like a pyramid, don't ya think?

San Isidro Parish, Maya, Daanbantayan, Cebu: It's triangle! Looks like a pyramid, don't ya think?

The coconut trees...Sometimes, I would long to go to Maya because of the unlimited buko (young coconut). Yum!

The coconut trees...Sometimes, I would long to go to Maya because of the unlimited buko (young coconut). Yum!

pump boat going to the Malapascua Island

pump boat going to the Malapascua Island, Daanbantayan, Cebu

How to get to Maya or Daanbantayan:

It is quite easy to go to the municipality of Daanbantayan.  From the Mactan International Airport, you go to the North Bus Terminal, North Reclamation Area, Mandaue City.  There, you will find buses going to Northern Cebu: Ceres Bus and D’ Rough Riders and the so called “mini buses”.  Look for the vehicles with the sign board Maya.🙂


Responses

  1. i glad to hear your website. Nice pictures. taga lungsod sa daanbantayan ako ug nalipay ko sa inyong mga actividades dinha.

    thanks!

  2. I WANT TO KNOW ABOUT ABUCAY FAMILY, ARDO ABUCAY THEY ARE MY FRIENDS WHEN I WENT TO MAYA. I LOVE THE PLACE THERE THE INDIAN MANGOES, AND ALSO LOOKING FOR HIS HALF SISTER JUST LIVING ACROSS THEIR HOUSE HER NAME IS RAQUESA HOPE SOMEONE WOULD REPLY.

    • Hi there! I heard the Barangay Captain of Maya is an Abucay. Hope that helps in a way.

  3. Yes, he’s one of my cousin.His name is ElverAli Abucay.

    • hi there do you know ardo abucay? are they still living there? how about bethsaida his mom and dad? are they alright?

  4. hi can you tell me if you know bethsaida abucay the sister of ardo, we were friends before i just want to know if how are they doing now. thanks for your replies.

    • Hello chili, maybe we could talk about this more over email exchange?🙂 what do you think?

    • ardo its okey and also bethsaida is married..

  5. I want to know if there are some 79rs viewing this page, i mean 79rs from Daanbantayan Provincial High School.Its been quite sometime that i haven’t visited daanbantayan i was born in Pajo.My then classmates are Sunny Luche,Leandro Tohay,Jergen Bronola,Marilou de Guzman to name a few.May i know how are you doing now guys.You can send me e-mails through juban@air-marine.com my pleasure to keep in touch with you.

    • hi there mr juban im from pajo as well… i know some jubans there.. like apolinario juban , rene, and others

    • My Father is Leandro Tohay:D

  6. thanks for bringing maya to web. ardo resides in sitio ibabao. you can call the barangay hall(4370100) for ardo’s number. marichu ,the barangay secretary, is glad to assist you in getting ardo’s contact number or leave your contact number for her to forward it to ardo.

    • no problem sir! it is a pleasure to write about a place filled with good memories, especially childhood memories.🙂 I sent you an email.

    • hi,

      thank you so much for the info. I was able to talk to my best friend rossana macabasag. Glad to hear her voice after almost 7 years that we haven’t seen each other.

      I will visit Maya soon, I am just too busy with my job right now.

      God Bless!

  7. Hi! I’m so glad that you have some information about maya!actually I was their last year during the feista of Suba and that’s the best vacation I ever had for seven years in the philippines.I enjoy the basketball competation!,I sponsored the Harvard team and we won!!!thanks and goodluck for all your project..

  8. Hi everyone! I’m Paolo, i grew-up pretty much in cebu. I’m currently in the U.S. It’s nice to see Daan Bantayan on the web. I was about to do a school paper about a certain place that i would likely invite a person over. I couldn’t help but think about Daan Bantayan and Bantayan Island. Luckily, i came across this page. I’ve been there on Daan Bantayan and the Island several times when i was in cebu. I fell in love with the place and i miss it so much.

  9. nice one ann! dz s great, i mizzd maya so much but as i saw dz site of urz, 8 made me smile…tnx 4 da effort. im km, from maya also.tnx again

  10. tito arreglo> igonsa man ka ni koking arreglo? binisay-on lang ni nko ha kay dili man ko englisera…kumusta?

    • hello! ana. kinsa man nga koking arreglo ba? palihug ko og asoy sa iyang tinuod na pangan o bien basin kaila pod nimo ang uban pangan sa membro sulod sa familia. sa tinood, daghan man kami nga ang apellido arreglo sa daanbantayan en caso lang tungod sa midaghan ang arreglo populasyon sa daanbantayan di na magkaila sa usag-usa unless lang kung magpaila sila na arreglo og kinsa ila lolo etc. pero sa katibok-an usa lang ang kagikan namo na arreglo sa lungsod lang sa daanbantayan og mituo na kami tanan arreglo na apellido usa lang gyod ang kagikan.
      anyway, nganu diay nangutana man ka?

  11. heLLo there!
    I wAs sO gLad looking at d pictures of maya in this wEb.
    It made me prOud to be a mayanhOn!

    • yup very nice maya..

  12. HMmMpp

  13. daanbantayan is my moms hometown but i havent been there. i wanted to check the place out. my mom has been crowned as a queen or something in daanbantayan before coz i still have her pic. she passed away but i really would like to visit daanbantayan. i dont know where to stay or if there are any hotels nearby for me to crash in for a week or so.

    • summer would be the best for you to go. about hotels, i’m also not sure. haven’t gone there my self for a long time now and i only stay in my relatives’ homes. but there are a few resorts and are most likely popular. you would not have a hard time.

  14. […] that it was Maya’s feast day too. In fact, prior to that I already had an adventurous day in Maya, Daanbantayan, Cebu – my Pa’s home, the barangay across Malapascua. Since the neighboring island paradise is […]

  15. Hi,

    Could you please recommend which barangay of daanbantayan is better to stay and for business opportunity. Thanks

  16. Hi am victor cuyos ,son of late Benjamin Canete Cuyos ,His fater was Julio M. Cuyos and his mother was Rosa Pilipil Canete’I would like to send my warm greetings to Abucay family and to all my cousins there in Maya, May the Almighty One bless you all, GOD BLESS DAANBANTAYAN! PRAYING FOR A ONE GREAT REVIVAL SOON !EMAIL :victorcuyos@yahoo.com

  17. HI Tito Arreglo! Hapi ko nga nabasa nako imo name sa internet particular sa daan bantayan! Curious lang ko basin relative tika kay ako mama, c Pastora Arreglo Payao taga Kawit, Medellin man. Naa na mi karon namuyo sa Davao.Plano nako mobakasyon sa medellin karong april kuyog ako 2 ka igsoon. maayo unta mailaila namo amo mga paryente diha!

  18. update number of the barangay hallis 4373202. we have to change from wireless loop to fixed line for reliable communication from globe telecom.

    • sir goodmorning pwede ko mangayu ug contact number nga updated dha sa brgyhall?salamat

    • Wala ra ba ko ana, Sir. I don’t post contact info here. Thanks!

  19. hi hello taga-tagasa, maya ako si aida espinosa , ang ganda na ng place natin dyan gusto ko nang umuwi sa lugar natin

  20. hi aida pepito dublin espinosa, hello my all friends their in maya especially my bestfriend eva arresgado i miss you, and ang akong mga paryente diha sa maya, and tagasa hi hello every one. see you soon


Leave a Reply

Categories

