Posted by: annpeace | June 6, 2009

Gabii sa Kabilin 2009 Snippets (Part 2)

I owe those who read the part 1 a part 2.  Firstly, I apologize for the delay, had been busy and could not get things in order.  So, for the second part, I will just have to do it quick since it’s been a week that passed and you surely wouldn’t want stale food.🙂

After the Casa Gorordo tour, we walked our way to the Yap-Sandiego Ancestral House located at 155-Lopez Jaena corner Mabini streets in Parian, Cebu. It is said to be the oldest residential house in the country, built sometime between 1675 and 1700. More about the ancestral home here.

My friends and I saw a big Sto. Niño…I actually have a photo of it but since it was I and the Niño, I don’t think that would be relevant. Hehehe…There were also large paintings on the wall and in frames.  While writing this I realized that the home was actually full of big stuff because aside from the painting and the Niño, there were other life size statues of saints on the second floor.

So the second floor, my friends were in shoes so they had to wear foot mops (those that we used to wear in the computer lab in high school ;)) not to make the polished floor dirty…or look unpolished at that.

And finally, the tartanilla ride! Weee!

We rode the carriage going to Museo Sugbo.  We found lots of interesting stuff there – early newspapers, emergency money, artifacts, a Japanese spy camera used during the Japanese occupation.  I particularly loved the camera, it looked like a mini lomo! He wad little time left, so I did not get the chance to really read and absorb the loads of information.

We still had the chance to go to Fort San Pedro but we only strolled there for a few minutes since the fort was closing.

Yes, we missed the two other museums: the Cathedral Museum of Cebu and the Basilica del Sto. Niño Museum.  Which is why I am already prepared for the next year’s Gabii sa Kabilin, so I wouldn’t miss anything. Ha! I know better this time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

