Posted by: annpeace | May 17, 2013

Jobless

Jobless.

I wish I could get a job that I really want. The cynical part of me says, that as usual, it is not going to be MY choice. It is true around the world, that your passion does not always pay the rent. And in my case, my passion could not pay the rent, the mortgage, the daily bread, and God knows what more.

The positive side of me, says, that I will find the job, that is if I would not have to pay the rent and so on. How’s that positive, even.

So, it’s been just days (and just while I’m typing this line I realized it’s been a week already!) that I have stopped manning the phone. Not because I feel the job is degrading to me. No, no, no. I’d like to emphasize that because I know a lot of elitists in the country feel their jobs are more important than mine, or now my previous job.

While the job is decent (I would like to say “marangal”), I am not for it for a long time. It’s not about the job, it’s about me (how’s that for a breakup line?). What do I really want to do? I want to write a book, I want to be in publishing, I want to be home-based, I want to do marketing on site, on the field, I want to teach, I want to pursue my little entrepreneurial endeavor, I want to volunteer, I want to work in a company of causes (like a foundation or something), sometimes I just want to stay put and relax because it’s just too exhausting making ends meet when I don’t deserve it. All thesee, not very promising to the paycheck. Or maybe I do not know yet.

So, here I am, unemployed yet am not job hunting. What am I thinking? Am I thinking that the job will choose me. Quite honestly, sometimes I feel it would. Like in the middle of my writing stints, oh just writing, someone might call me and say they are looking for me. “We are looking for your passion that we have not seen in anybody before!” “You are our hope!”

In my recent job interview experiences, you see, I realized that a lot of things did not matter. And I could not tell which really mattered to them. That being said, I will be taking my time, until I am ready again to accept the job that I would not love still. But considering I have rested, maybe this will feel better.

Meanwhile, just a few hours writing this, I got a call that I got accepted for a new job. Whew. I’m starting this Monday. Let’s all hope for the better!🙂


Responses

  1. Congrats and good luck!🙂

    • Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

